Sexual Harassment and Hostile Work Environment
It is illegal for employers to actively sexually harass their employees, but it is also illegal for your employer to tolerate or allow sexual harassment from your supervisors or your coworkers. There are two general types of sexual harassment in the workplace: quid pro quo sexual harassment and hostile work environment sexual harassment. In cases of quid pro quo harassment, people are asked to exchange sexual favors for employment favors, like a promotion, overlooking an error, or expanded access or work duties.
Hostile work environment harassment occurs when you are forced to undergo hostile or intimidating conditions on an ongoing basis. In some cases, hostile work environment cases can include more than just sexual harassment and could include bullying, violence, abuse, or other mistreatments in the workplace.
New Jersey state law guarantees $8.60 per hour for most workers in 2018. This means that your employer cannot pay you less than this without meeting certain qualifications. For instance, tipped workers have a “tip credit” of $5.12 per hour, so their minimum hourly wage is only $2.13. Many employees make more than this, and those amounts may be subject to employee handbooks, contracts, or other statements from your employer. If your employer fails to pay you minimum wage or refuses to pay you what you deserve, you may be able to take them to court. This includes suing if your employer fails to give you equal pay for equal work or commits other equal pay violations.
Passaic County Employment Lawyer for Employees
If you or a loved one is suffering from problems at work, talk to an employment lawyer about your case. The Passaic County, New Jersey employment discrimination attorneys at The Law Offices of Usmaan Sleemi fight to help our clients vindicate their rights, get the pay they deserve, and keep their jobs. For a free consultation on your case, contact our law offices today at (973) 453-4060.